Back

Exhibition

The Art of Protest – The Story of Hongkongers

from & RESTORATION LEVY

Book Tickets

This timely project responds to the recent protests in Hong Kong. It gives artists the opportunity to create new work which engages with events in the city and demonstrates how art can be a form of activism. The Hong Kong democratic movement is also a significant example of this approach, from its iconic yellow umbrellas to street placards and posters.

All the artwork in the exhibition is inspired by the story of Hongkongers, and how they fight for freedom in their homeland. It features work by Juarts, Ka, Lumli, Lumlong and Mei Yuk Wong, ranging from paintings and graphic images, to sculpture, textiles and more. There is also archive material from the protests in Hong Kong and the UK. In addition to the exhibition, artists will lead workshops and talks during the weekends at Culture Warrington venues.

Exhibition curated by Mei Yuk Wong and Ian Vines

This project is funded by Arts Council England, and supported by Castlefield Gallery and Culture Warrington.
For further information please contact: [email protected]

Image: Lumli Lumlong, Thousand Hands Man (2019) (detail). Photograph by Lumli Lumlong

Visiting the exhibition

This exhibition is at New Art Spaces: Warrington, which is located in the former Marks & Spencer shop unit on Sankey Street.

The exhibition is open 3-27 February 2022 – Thursday, Friday and Sunday 1-4pm, Saturday 1-6pm (closed Monday-Wednesday)

Admission is free and there is no need to book.

Free events

The following events are at the Pop-up Museum & Library, in the Golden Square Shopping Centre.

TICKETS

Thursday 03 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Friday 04 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Saturday 05 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Sunday 06 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Thursday 10 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Friday 11 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Saturday 12 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Sunday 13 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Thursday 17 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Friday 18 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Saturday 19 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Sunday 20 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Thursday 24 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Friday 25 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Saturday 26 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Sunday 27 Feb 2022, 1:00pm

Book tickets

Sorry, we have no posts to show you!

Please try again soon or contact us for more information.